Upcoming! UPK registration will be held March 4-28. Learn more about registering your child here! 

CHS announces Student Scholar, scholarship winners

Cohoes High School recently announced the Student Scholar recipients for the 2017-18 school year, along with a number of scholarship winners.

Student Scholars

To qualify as a Student Scholar, students had to appear on the highest honor or high honor roll in three of the last four quarters. This year’s recipients are:

Alexander, Julianna
Alonzo, Zachary
Appell, Sabrina
Baran, Daniel
Barrett, Shaelah
Benedetti, Emma
Blizinski, Ciara
Bouali, Ferielle
Bourgeois, Braelyn
Brennan, Alexandra
Brown, George
Calagna, Kalie
Cepiel, Shannon
Charbonneau, Samantha
Christmas, Samantha
Cioffi, Alexander
Dayter, Samantha
Desroches, Sydnie
DeVoe, Adriana
Dion, Tyler
Donovan, Kayla
Dugan, Destiny
Essoulaimani, Rayan
Fayzi, Kiristina
Forkel, Brianna
Frangie, Jarron
Garner, Emily
Gilbert, Jaise
Giroux, Tawny
Goldup, Emily
Gonzalez, Yade Leen
Hansbury, Riley
Hebert, Katlyn
Herrera, Marielly
Heslop, Celina
Houser, Abby
Huneau, Olivia
Hunt, Andraya
Hyman, Genesis
Jewett, Elizabeth
Jin, Mindy
Kendrick, Aidan
Kohler, Jazlynn
Komar, Davyd
LaPlante, Megan
Le, Jalin
Lopez, Amaya
Madhiwala, Ruchi
Magnotta, Angelo
Mantica, Gwyna
Martinez-Peraza, Jenifer
Mero, Desiree
Mero, Isabella
Monson, Abigail
Monson, Emily
Nikityuk, Veronica
Osmani, Sofia
Palmer, Torianna
Pierre Jr., Bryan
Primeau, Daniel
Prouty, Skyler
Ragule, Hannah
Rifenberg, Kimberly
Ritchie, Joseph
Roby, Maggie
Rudska, Zhanna
Savaria, Kelsey
Savaria, Laney
Seguin, Jared
Shah, Saif
Shanahan, Lauren
Sherman, Adrien
Smith, Jenaya
Sortano, Angelina
Sousis, Amya
Surprenant, Max
Torrens, Cassidy
Van Buskirk, Veronica
VanSleet, Sean
Vohs, Jessica
Weihrich, Alexandria
Westcott, Laraina
White, Kayla


The Elmira Key Award – This is presented to a student in their junior year who has demonstrated outstanding school and community leadership. This year’s recipients are: Maggie Roby and Lauren Shanahan

RPI – Rensselaer Medal – The RPI medal was first presented in 1916 with two purposes: To recognize the superlative academic achievement of young men and women, and to motivate students toward careers in science, engineering and technology. This year’s recipient is: Rayan Essoulaimani

Rochester Institute of Technology – Computing Medal and Scholarship Awards – The RIT Computing Medal and Scholarship Program was established to honor high school juniors who have distinguished themselves academically, are active and involved members of their school and community and demonstrate interest and ability in computing. This year’s recipients are: Angelina Sortano and Adrien Sherman

University of Rochester Bausch & Lomb Award – This award is presented to a student in the junior class in recognition of outstanding achievement and superior intellectual promise in the field of science and most reflects the image of the ideal science student. This year’s recipient is: Jarron Frangie

Clarkson University Leadership Award – The Clarkson Leadership Award is designed to annually recognize students who demonstrate strong leadership qualities, have an academic interest in Engineering, Business, Science or Liberal Arts, and are a positive contributor to their school and community. This year’s recipient is: Daniel Baran

Saint Michael’s College Book Award for Academic Achievement and Social Conscience -The purpose of this award is to recognize a student in the junior class who is a member of the National Honor Society and demonstrates a commitment to volunteerism and leadership in his or her community. This year’s recipients are: Marielly Herrera and Aidan Kendrick

2018 Student Sage Recognition Award – The award was created to recognize the characteristics of academic excellence and community involvement that have defined Sage students for nearly a century. This year’s recipient is:  Brianna Forkel

University of Rochester – George Eastman Young Leaders Award – This award recognizes a  student’s strong leadership at school and in the community as well strong grades, challenging courses, and extensive involvement in extracurricular activities. This year’s recipient is: Braelyn Bourgeois

Wells College – 21st Century Leadership Award – This award honors top academic performers who demonstrate the passion and integrity needed to become successful leaders. This year’s recipient is: Amber Robinson

Clarkson Achievement Award – The Clarkson Achievement Award is designed to annually recognize a student in their junior year who has demonstrated a willingness to constantly challenge themselves, positively impacts their school and community, and has a proven academic record. This year’s recipient is: Kayla Donovan

Preparing our students for success in tomorrow’s world.

This website is maintained by the Cohoes City School District Communications Office. It is the goal of the Cohoes City School District that this website is accessible to all users. View our accessibility statement. The district is not responsible for facts or opinions contained on any linked site. Some links and features on this site require the Adobe Acrobat Reader to view. Visit the Adobe website to download the free Acrobat Reader. This website was produced by Capital Region BOCES Engagement & Development Services, Albany, NY. Copyright © 2024. All rights reserved.